> Our History

The Dr. Stirling McDowell Foundation for Research Into Teaching is an independent registered charitable organization established by the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation in 1991. We are named in honour of Dr. Stirling McDowell whose visionary work, internationally recognized research, and ability to inspire cooperation and creativity in education was only exceeded by his unwavering pride and passion for student learning and the teaching profession.

Our projects and activities are student-centred and relevant to successful instruction in today’s classrooms. Teachers are doing research every single day.  We are able to formalize that process with the ongoing support and engagement of the Federation and its more than 13,500 members.

With over 300 teacher-led research projects funded and a total of over $2 million in grants awarded, the results of our endeavours have had significant influence on students, teachers, and communities all across Saskatchewan. We continue to be honoured every year to support passionate and engaged teachers in exploring innovative ways to best meet the educational needs of students.

> Our Team

Missing from photo: Shane Skjerven, Alexander Tawpisim and Stephanie Danyluk

The operation of the McDowell Foundation is carried out with the support of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. Foundation staff are hired or assigned by the Executive Director of the STF. Core staff services are provided by individuals who work out of the STF office in Saskatoon.

The McDowell Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors, the majority of who are teachers and supported by the Project Review Committee.

The 2022-23 Board of Directors are:

Diana Jemieff Hayes – McDowell President;  Callie Lewry– McDowell Vice-President; Jane Isinger; Sean Lockwood; Mary MacColl; Alex Tawpisim; Shane Skjerven; Ted Zurakowski; Stephanie Danyluk and Denise Heppner


The 2022-23 Project Review Committee members are:

Kelley Cardinal, Deni Miclea, Andrea Morphy Daniel Poirier, Twyla Salm, Terry Wotherspoon. 

McDowell Staff

Nicole Tainsh – Manager

Debbie Brown  – Administrative Assistant

The McDowell Foundation would like to express our gratitude to past Board of DirectorsProject Review Committee and Advisory Committee members.